Cambium Saddles

I have moved from some beautiful leather Berthoud saddles that were amazing comfortable but a bit fragile. Berthoud saddles are supposed to be weatherproof and they are to a degree. They are to a degree but theory and reality are not always aligned.

However, I live in the East (MD to be specific) and it rains here. A lot, in fact. I cannot tell you the number of times I have been caught out without a saddle cover and I begin the look for a shopping bag to cover my saddle so I don’t ruin it. I love the look and feel the Berthoud saddles and the Brooks leather saddles. I just had the hassle. It is like a manual transmission, the idea of it is way better at this point in my life than the reality.

Cambiums by Brooks are amazingly comfortable and they are completely waterproof. They come in now three sizes: the ‘normal’ C17 is the equivalent of the Brooks B-17, the C15 which is probably the equivalent of the Swift, and a new C19 which is even wider.

I have a C17 and a C15 and they are both amazingly comfortable. And two other people are now happy with my Berthoud saddles. If you are wondering about these saddles, they look pretty good (they are not a Swift with hand hammered copper rivets by any stretch) and they are incredibly comfortable to me. As with any saddle review, your mileage may vary.

Leave a Reply

