Some Things I Just Don’t Get

This evening as I reached  Pennsylvania Nw and 17th NW the traffic light was flashing red in all directions. There was a lot of traffic and the situation was a free-for-all. Instead of treating the intersection as a 3-way stop, drivers just kept going in all directions. It was either stand there all night, or just pick the best moment to ride across the intersection, assuming all those cars would stop. I did the latter, and they did stop, or I wouldn’t be here writing this.It was hotter than I can describe and possibly that made me extra cranky but when I realized that a police officer was sitting in his car on the other side of this intersection, watching this whole thing and doing nothing about it, I was pretty mad. I am sure he wasn’t a traffic cop but couldn’t he have done something?

Leave a Reply

