Like Usual Only Faster

I can’t say why or how, but I completed our usual 15-16 mile winter training route much faster than usual. Part of it was the lack of traffic in Ellicott City. We breezed right through the shopping district. Besides feeling great, that certainly saved several minutes. The rest was really me riding faster than usual, something I usually just can’t do. While it can be embarrassing, I’ve come to terms with my slowness, figuring having progressed in my mid-50s from recreational cycling to commuting and touring is accomplishment enough.  I felt good today, strong, and lifted up by the sun and and the signs of spring blooming everywhere. Though I did still struggle with those hills in the final 3 miles of the route. When we got home, John pointed out our ride had taken 15 minutes less than usual. That achievement, followed by the steak dinner he prepared, made for a great Sunday evening!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

