Interesting Metaphors

I have read more letters to the editor and heard more people say out
loud that ALL cyclists break the law. Running stop signs and red
lights are the biggest ones probably followed by blocking the lanes
and going slowly preventing faster moving vehicles from passing them.
But I have to say that I have never heard any of those comments made
about other motorists. Have you ever seen anyone run a red light or do
a “California” roll through a stop sign? You bet. Ever get caught
behind a tractor on a country road? You bet. Ever read a letter to the
editor about removing them from the road? After all, most states don’t
require tractors to get a license so they are not “paying” for the
road either… So what is it about some cyclists behaving this way
that causes great ire amongst motorists but seeing other motorists
doing it gets a middle finger and a shrug?

6 thoughts on “Interesting Metaphors

  1. As a road/touring cyclist, I see far more cyclists breaking the law than motor vehicle drivers. If that many drivers broke the motor vehicle laws of their respective States on such a regular basis, the police would have a field day with tickets. Might balance the State budget of a few of them. Just sayin’…

  2. I don’t disagree with you if you limit ‘breaking the law’ to stop signs and red lights. But >75% of drivers drive significantly over the legal speed limit. Many drive while talking on their cell phones; also illegal. I don’t believe that cyclists have a higher dumb fuck ratio than regular drivers.

  3. More cyclist breaking traffic laws than motorists? Are you kidding Padraig? John’s already covered speeding, and cell phones–If had a dollar for every drive I’ve seen texting in the last 2 yrs, I’d have a nice little nest egg. Never mind failure to signal at intersections, changing lanes, tailgaiting (not sure if that’s illegal in all states, but it’s highly dangerous), and the biggest one I see ALL the time is failure to yield to oncoming traffic when the lane narrows. The notion of “right of way” seems to have gone out the window when it comes to oncoming traffic and who’s supposed to wait and who has the right away to stay in their lanes.The other thing here is the difference between cycling commuter and “cyclists’. I agree that many of the commuters I see downtown are oblivious to many rules and laws, and I’m amazed how much they are jeopardizing their lives–it frustrates me as a driver, and as a cyclist because I know they give us roadies a bad name. But, I have RARELY seen a road cyclist break laws when there is any traffic around. Don’t lump all cyclists together.

  4. Touchy, touchy…I didn’t mean to do that, nor do I think my words did that my friend. I said “many”, not all….and I referenced my travels in downtown Ithaca, I did not generalize outside that context. I was very careful to do both of these things… 🙂

  5. Point well taken. Must have been my frozen fingers, etc that caused me to be so snappish…You also live in a college town increasing the risk taking coefficient significantly.  Personally, I wish most states would adopt the Idaho bike laws which in a paraphrase allow you to roll through a stop sign if there is no opposing traffic and to stop and move forward on a red light in similar circumstances. Would dumb fucks abuse this? You bet. But I am probably not the only person who has sat on my bike at a light waiting for a car to come up and trip the light. I am probably also not the only person to not do that and just run the light because it was damn stupid…  But I do that at rural intersections not in downtown Baltimore…

Leave a Reply

